Letters of the alphabet number

This article contains IPA phonetic letters of the alphabet number. Without proper rendering support, you may see question marks, boxes, or other symbols instead of Unicode characters. For an introductory guide on IPA symbols, see Help:IPA.

Without proper rendering support, you may see question marks, boxes, or other symbols. Arabic abjad is the Arabic script as it is codified for writing the Arabic language. It is written from right to left in a cursive style and includes 28 letters. Originally, the alphabet was an abjad, with only consonants, but it is now considered an “impure abjad”.

As with other abjads, such as the Hebrew alphabet, scribes later devised means of indicating vowel sounds by separate vowel points. The basic Arabic alphabet contains 28 letters. These dots are an integral part of a letter, since they distinguish between letters that represent different sounds. Both printed and written Arabic are cursive, with most of the letters within a word directly connected to the adjacent letters.

There are two main collating sequences for the Arabic alphabet: abjad and hija. Phoenician alphabet, and is therefore similar to the order of other Phoenician-derived alphabets, such as the Hebrew alphabet. Arabic alphabet historically derives from that letter. The six other letters that do not correspond to any north Semitic letter are placed at the end. The hijā’ī order is never used as numerals.

Another kind of hijā’ī order was used widely in the Maghreb until recently when it was replaced by the Mashriqi order. The Arabic alphabet is always cursive and letters vary in shape depending on their position within a word. While some letters show considerable variations, others remain almost identical across all four positions. For other uses, see Arabic script. See the section on regional variations in letter form. Arabic language speakers may usually not follow a standardized scheme when transcribing names.